There is a bit of confusion around the difference between being a vegan and being a vegetarian. They are not the same type of diet. A vegetarian will not eat meat, but a vegetarian is not strict about other foods that come from an animal like eggs or milk. They will often eat fish where a vegan will not.
The person who practices veganism is one who extends the vegan philosophy into daily life, beyond just strictly the dietary needs. Vegans refuse to eat any byproducts from animals including eggs, dairy products and honey. They disagree with the farming of animals and its effect on the environment. Their fierce environmental ideals are reflected not only in their diets, but the rest of their life as well.
The term vegan came about in 1944 with the meaning of non-dairy vegetarian. It was a phrase thought up by the co-founder of the British Vegan Society, and in 1951, they extended the meaning to include living in a way that did not exploit animals. Vegans are strictly against hurting another living creature, and especially for food consumption.
The vegan diet is without animal fats and byproducts. It is high in fiber and low in saturated fats. Vegans have to find a way to replace the important vitamins and minerals missing in their diets. They are missing protein for muscles and vitamin D which is important for healthy bones. It is important that they take supplements for the missing nutrients.
Posted on November 28th, 2012 by admin
Filed under: Uncategorized